Nicholas Fung set a new course record at Nilai Springs Golf & Country Club in Negeri Sembilan today, en route to opening up a massive seven-stroke lead in the Professional Golf of Malaysia (PGM) Tour’s Closed Championship.

The Sabah lad, who turns 25 in May and has twice being the PGM Tour Player of the Year, shot a seven-under 65 to tighten his grip on the RM180,000 event. He finished the day on 11-under 133.

Speaking after a round that included five birdies over the last seven holes, having hit two on the first nine, Fung said the Chinese New Year break is what did the trick for him.

“I played good golf over the first days, which have been bogey-free,” he pointed out. “And all this comes after I had a CNY holiday break with my family and friends in Kota Kinabalu. During this time I did not touch a golf club – until Tuesday (the day before the start of the tournament).

“I felt comfortable on the first day and today was even better. I hit the ball well and putted well too. My game plan is to keep the ball in the fairway and then give myself the opportunity at getting the ball close for chances at birdie – it worked out very nice today.”

Fung could not have asked for a better position to find himself in, than to start the third day with a chance to maybe put the tournament beyond the chasing pack.



Iylia Jamil and Shaaban Hussin both shot successive two-under-par 70s for a share of second place on 140.

Meanwhile, Sukree Othman, who already has two runner-up finishes in the first four events of the new PGM season and has been in fine form, carded a 69 and was joint fourth with Kim Leun Kwang (70). They were another stroke back on three-under 141, while Airil Rizman (70) and amateur player Khavish Varman, who followed up his opening two-under round with an even-par 72, were joint sixth.


Leading Second Round Scores

133 Nicholas Fung 68-65

140 Iylia Jamil 70-70, Shaaban Hussin 70-70

141 Sukree Othman 72-69, Kim Leun Kwang 71-70

142 Airil Rizman 72-70, Khavish Varman (A) 70-72

143 Ben Leong 73-70, Kemarol Baharin 71-72, Anis Hassan 68-75

144 Farhan Syarif 74-70, M. Azman Basharudin 73-71, Kenneth De Silva 72-72, Solomon Emilio 70-74

145 M. Adam Shafiq 76-69, S. Siva Chandhran 76-69, Kenneth Tobuse 75-70, P. Gunasagaran 73-72, Khor Kheng Hwai 73-72

146 M. Rizal Amin 75-71, R. Nachimuthu 74-72, Abel Tam 73-73, Lion Goh 73-73, Low Khai Jei (A) 73-73, Hans Jamil 73- 73, Kiishaan Tharmalingam 70-76

About admin