Nicholas Fung opened up a two-stroke lead at the halfway stage of the Professional Golf of Malaysia (PGM) Tour’s Orna Closed Championship today.

Displaying the sort of form that brought him two successive PGM Player of the Year awards in 2012 and 2013, Fung carded a three-69 for a seven-under-par 137 total.

Leading the chase was Khor Kheng Hwai, who also had a second round 69, and Malaysia’s top-ranked amateur Low Khai Jei, who signed for a 70, and were joint runner-up on 139.

Another stroke back was Ben Leong, one of the PGM Tour’s form players, who carded a two-under 70 to share fourth place with co-leader of the first round, Lam Yu Shuen, who had a 73 for his day’s work. They were on four-under 140.

M.Sasidaran (70) and Wilson Choo (73), who won earlier this season, were tied for sixth place on 141. Lim Eng Seng (71) and Shaifubari Muda (73) were joint eighth on 143.

Happy with his performance so far, 19-year-old Khai Jei said his two-under 70 today was “very good”.

“The course is playing tough but I managed to get to two-under today and five-under overall, which I think is very good.”

Looking back on his round, the young amateur, who finished tied for third in the PGM Tour event at Glenmarie last week, added: “I didn’t too good and missed a few. But my driving is very good and I hit solid irons shots, which gave me chances at birdie.” Khai Jei had birdies on his card, but also three bogeys.

In contrast, Fung had six birdies, but also a bogey at the par-3 12th and a double-bogey at par-4 16th hole.

Following the cut-off, 45 pros will return for the third round tomorrow and one amateur – Khai Jei. Joint first round leader, amateur player Brandon Lau, imploded with an 84 that left him in a tie for 34th place on 150.


Leading Second Round Scores

137 Nicholas Fung 68-69

139 Khor Kheng Hwai 70-69, Low Khai Jei (A) 69-70

140 Ben Leong 70-70, Lam Yu Shuen 67-73

141 M. Sasidaran 71-70, Wilson Choo 68-73

143 Lim Eng Seng 72-71, Shaifubari Muda 70-73

144 Kim Leun Kwang 73-71, Sukree Othman 71-73, Kenneth Tobuse 69-75, Akhmal Tarmizee 68-76

145 Dino Abdillah 73-72, Solomon Emilio 71-74

About admin