Danny Chia, who this week regained the top-spot in the world rankings among the Malaysians, fired a blistering six-under 66 to seize the lead in the second round of the Professional Golf of Malaysia (PGM) Bukit Jawi Championship today.

Multiple Tour winner and leader of the PGM Tour’s Order of Merit Chia moved to a 133 total for a two stroke cushion at the top of the leaderboard at the halfway stage of the RM200,000 tournament, co-sanctioned with the Asian development Tour.

Pleased with the position he finds himself at Bukit Jawi Golf Resort in Penang, Chia said: “I struck the ball well today, and yesterday, and that was nice because in recent weeks it hasn’t been that good.

“I putted well on these greens which can be tricky at times, but it might have even been better, as I didn’t read a few of them too well.

“But overall, I am happy with where I am,” he added.

Chia knows that he cannot get carried away as there is still a long way to go in the event that carries world rankings points and has Casey O’Toole also in good form. The American carded a 67 to climb to 135.

Another two shots back on seven-under-par 137 are Thailand’s Nitithorn Thippong (69) and Itthipat Buranatanyarat (70), and Australian Jordan Sherratt (70).

Lurking yet another stroke on 138 adrift are Poom Saksansin of Thailand, who had a 70, and Josh Salah of the US, who signed for a 70.

Leading Second Round Scores

133 Danny Chia (Mas) 67-66

135 Casey O’Toole (US) 68-67

137 Jordan Sherratt (Aus) 67-70, Nitithorn Thippong (Tha) 68-69, Itthipat Buranatanyarat (Tha) 67-70

138 Poom Saksansin (Tha) 68-70, Josh Salah (US) 68-70

139 Atthaphon Sriboonkaew (Tha) 68- 71, Sean Riordan (Nzl) 68-71, Kemarol Baharin (Mas) 71-68, Ratchapol Jantavara (Tha) 70-69, Piya Swangarunporn (Tha) 70-69

140 Lion Goh (Mas) 67-73, Khor Kheng Hwai (Mas) 69-71

141 Rory Hie (Ina) 69-72, Mitsuhiko Hashizume (Jpn) 72-69, Hamza Amin (Pak) 68-73

142 Tirawat Kaewsiribandit (Tha) 68-74, Rudy Thuillier (Fra) 70-72, Nattapong Putta (Tha) 70-72, Masaru Takahashi (Jpn) 69-73, Kim Leun-Kwang (Mas) 73-69

143 Jordan Irawan (Ina) 71-72, Sukree Othman (Mas) 72-71, Arie Irawan (Mas) 70-73, Blake Snyder (US) 71-72, Airil Rizman Zahari (Mas) 73-70, Feroz Singh Garewal (Ind) 72-71, Pijit Petchkasem (Tha) 73-70

About admin