Irfan Yusoff won his maiden Professional Golf of Malaysia (PGM) Tour title when he clinched the Impian Closed Championship at Impian Golf & Country Club in Kajang after a six-hole sudden-death playoff today.

The 21-year-old shot a fourth and final round five-under 67 to match Lam Yu Shuen, who had a closing even-par 72, and S. Siva Chandhran, who carded a final day 67 of his own, on 10-under 278 for the tournament.

Those numbers left the top trio to battle it out in a playoff that stretched six holes before Irfan emerged with the crown and a cheque for RM30,600. It was always going to be a tight call at the top of the leaderboard, which was bunched the whole week. Ben Leong, who led after the third round, was third on nine-under 279, missing out on the playoff by a single stroke having shot a fourth round 73.

Top amateur player Low Khai Jei, who has already won on the PGM Tour this season, continued with his good form – carding a final round three-under 69 to finish alone in fifth place. The 19-year-old was eighth-under 280.

Reigning PGM Player of the Year Airil Rizman (68), Khor Kheng Hwai (70) and Rizal Amin (71) were tied for sixth place on seven-under 281.

Speaking after receiving the trophy, Irfan said: “I am very happy and excited to have won here. To win on this Tour is tough as there are many very good players – the main one being Danny Chia, who was not here this week.”

Reflecting on the playoff that brought him the victory, the Kedah lad added: “I tried to keep calm and just play one shot at a time and in the end it worked out fine. My plan was to go for birdie and then par.” Irfan parred all six playoff holes en route to the win, after Siva bogeyed the fourth extra hole and Lam the sixth. Commenting on his young, budding career, Irfan said: “My father, Yusof, has been the one who supported me the most. He has been with me since I took up golf when I was 10 years old and continues to guide and help me with my game.” Irfan’s best finish on Tour before his win today was fifth at the PGM Matchplay Championships earlier this season, where he reached the quarterfinals.

Leading Fourth Round Scores

278 – 10 Irfan Yusoff 71-69-71-67, Lam Yu Shuen 68-66-72-72, S. Siva Chandhran 70-71-70-67

279 – 9 Ben Leong 70-69-67-73

280 – 8 Low Khai Jei (A) 74-67-70-69

281 – 7 Airil Rizman Zahari 71-69-73-68, Khor Kheng Hwai 74-68-69-70,

Mohamad Rizal Amin 67-70-73-71

284 – 4 Alex Tiong 69-71-76-68, Sukree Othman 67-72-76-69, Rashid Ismail 69-74-72-69,

Kenneth De Silva 68-75-71-70, Iylia Jamil 71-70-69-74

285 -3 Wilson Choo 71-73-74-67, M. Sasidaran 72-77-68-68, Solomon Emilio 74-72-70-69


About admin